Jennifer Fox returns to produce 14th Governors Awards

“Producing the Academy’s Governors Awards for the fifth time is an absolute honor.“

LOS ANGELES, CA – Oscar®-nominated producer Jennifer Fox will return to produce the 14th Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy President Janet Yang announced today. It is her fifth time producing the event.


Honorary Awards will be presented to Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks and editor Carol Littleton, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to the Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter. The event will take place on Tuesday, January 9, 2024, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Ovation Hollywood.


“Producing the Academy’s Governors Awards for the fifth time and helping kick off another Oscar season is an absolute honor.  I’m looking forward to a memorable night paying tribute to this year’s exceptional honorees,” said Fox.


“We are delighted to welcome Jennifer back as our producer for the Governors Awards.  With her experience and profound knowledge of this annual event, there is no doubt we’re in for a special celebration to honor the careers of Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, Carol Littleton and Michelle Satter,” said Yang.


Fox has produced or executive produced some of the most iconic films of the last 15 years, including Tony Gilroy’s directorial debut, “Michael Clayton,” which earned seven Oscar nominations including Best Picture. She began her film industry career in development and production at Universal Pictures, where she worked on several films, including “Erin Brockovich.”  Fox spent the next six years producing with Steven Soderbergh and George Clooney’s production company, Section Eight, where she worked on such acclaimed titles as “Syriana,” “Good Night, and Good Luck.,” “A Scanner Darkly” and “The Informant!.”  Her other film credits include “Duplicity,” “The Bourne Legacy,” “We Need to Talk about Kevin,” “Nightcrawler,” “Roman J. Israel, Esq.,” “Velvet Buzzsaw,” “The Report,” “The Last Duel” and “Magazine Dreams.” She is currently working on her next film, “The Pack.”  Fox also produced the Academy’s 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th Governors Awards.


The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”


The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”


The 14th Governors Awards is proudly supported by Rolex, the Exclusive Watch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.



Oscars Press Release from December 13, 2023

Jennifer Fox returns to produce 14th Governors Awards, Oscars Press Release